All-Star Cheerleading Squad

Contact: Betty Lou Jones
phone: 515-272-4354
address: Box 249, Swea City, IA 50590

  • Coaches must be members of ICCA to have cheerleaders try out for the All-Star Cheerleading Squad.

  • The ICCA is excited to join together with the Iowa Basketball Coaches Association to put together a great weekend featuring senior basketball players and talented cheerleaders. The cheer team is chosen through a video tryout process. A panel of cheer coaches choose cheerleaders to be members of the ICCA All-Star Squad. The fee for participating on the squad is $75. The All-Stars are sent a video from which to learn a choreographed routine which they will perform at Dallas Center-Grimes High School the end of March. Over the weekend the cheerleaders perform their choreographed routine at the half times of the Boys and Girls consolation and championship games. A practice will be held on March 25th in Grimes, starting at a time to be announced. The performances will be on March 26th, time to be announced (these dates are tentative).

Please contact ICCA All-Star Director Betty Lou Jones with any questions.

*2022 All-Star Cheerleading Tryout Information: Update

The Iowa Cheerleading Coaches’ Association in conjunction with the Iowa Basketball Coaches’ Association will select cheerleaders to be placed on the All-Star Cheer Squad to perform at the IBCA Basketball All-Star Tournament to be held March 26, 2022, at the Dallas-Center Grimes High School. A practice will be held on March 25, 2022 in Grimes (time to be announced). The cost if chosen to be a member is $75.

Eligibility: Cheerleaders who are in good standing with his/her squad and school. Seniors will have first choice over underclassmen with like abilities. The cheerleader’s coach must be a member of ICCA. The coach is not required to attend.

Information will be sent to cheerleading coaches in early December by e-mail. A tryout video will need to be submitted by January 15, 2022.

To be chosen, the cheerleader must submit the following:
1. A coach’s recommendation, stating why this cheerleader should be chosen.
2. All-Star Consent Form, Medical Release Form and Skill List
3. A video demonstrating cheering abilities.


Medical Release Form
All-Stars Consent Form
All-Stars Skills List

Video: The cheerleader must submit the following items on video. If possible, please send by e-mail or put on a private Youtube and send link. Tapes or DVDs will not be returned.

1. A short cheer, incorporating strong motions. (no stunts, tumbling or jumps)
2. A short dance (4 8 counts) to music
3. A toe touch.
4. Video (tape, DVD, Youtube link or email), recommendation and form must be postmarked by January 15, 2021, to be considered. Send all requirements to Betty Lou Jones, Box 249, Swea City, Iowa 50590.

Judging of videos will be done by ICCA Board Members and the All-Star Committee. The committee will review all videos submitted and make their decision based on skills and recommendation. All selections are final.

Routine: The routine will be sent to the cheerleaders chosen and they must learn the material before they report to practice on the March 25, 2022 (time to be announced).

For more information please contact Betty Lou Jones, e-mail or 515-272-4354.

ICCA awards A $250 scholarship to one senior member of the All-Star squad. The senior is chosen by the All-Star coaches. The announcement will be made at the final performance.

2021 All-Star Cheerleading Squad

Ashton Merrill, North Union
Allie Bieber, Waukon
Presten Schwerdfeger, Bettendorf
Kailee Stanfield, North Linn
Selma Kleinsmith, Solon
Haylie Fry, Garner Hayfield Ventura
Elizabeth Harrison, North Union
Ci Anne Robinson, Waukon
Brynn Johnson, Vinton-Shellsburg
Kelsey Kreuder, Bondurant-Farrar
Raylene Poeppe, Emmetsburg
Macie Sefrit, Bedford
Kasandra Watkins, North Union
Shania Dunee, Waukon
Jaiden Thomsen, North Linn
Madisen Craig, Solon
Tierra Keeney, Garner Hayfield Ventura
Brianna Lux, Kuemper Catholic
Rachel Henriksen, North Union
Peyton Verthein, Waukon
Gracyn Kane, North Linn
Jayda English, Bettendorf
Claire Booth, Vinton-Shellsburg
Jaiden Egbert, Shenandoah
Debra Brown, Mediapolis
Korinna Thedens, Central Lyon
Kiara Bjornson, Oskaloosa
Ella Hagebock, North Union
Hannah Iseli, Waukon
Peyton Knight, Solon
Tori Schoch, Vinton-Shellsburg
Kendahl Freet, Don Bosco
Dakota Villarreal, North Union
Hailey Howes, Waukon
Shane McAtee, Solon
Morgan Fries, North Union
Bryce Walker, Vinton-Shellsburg

Betty Lou Jones, ICCA All-Star Director
Megan Stumpf, Choreographer
Bethany Brink, ICCA Cheer Coach

2021 All Star Squad Photo:

2021 All Star Award Winners

Left to right, first row: Iowa Cheerleading Coaches’ Association Scholarship winner Ashton Merrill and Most Valuable Cheerleader winner  Kendahl Freet. Back row: All-star Tournament Cheer Squad — Dakota Villarreal, Selma Kleinsmith, Ella Hagebock, Kailee Stanfield and Presten Schwerdtfeger